Yekaterinburg is the capital of Ural. It pretends to be the «third capital» of Russia. The city was found in 1723, and nowadays it is the large industrial and administrative center of Sverdlovsk region.
There are plenty of historical, archeological, geological anf natural monuments and touristic attractions in Yekaterinburg and its suburbs. One of them — Shartash stone tents — is located within the city limits.
Shartash stone tents
Shartash stone tents are granite firewell rocks located near Shartash lake in Yekaterinburg. The Shartash stone tents are distinguished by pillow form appeared under the influence of wind, water and temperature. The rocks are 12 meters high.
According to existing archeological data, up to 10 ancient settlements dated 3000 BC and even earlier were located on shore of Shartash lake. Shartash stone tents were the center and the sacrificial place of these ancient settlements.
Ural is proud to be located at the interface of two parts of the world. There are several monuments located on the border between Europe and Asia. The most interesting obelisk is near Pervouralsk (40 km from Yekaterinburg). The obelisk was made in honour of Tsar Alexander II who was traveling to Siberia in 1837. He stopped there and opened a bottle of wine. Since that there is a tradition to drink on the border – one glass in Europe and one in Asia.
Church on Blood
Church on Blood is the largest church in Yekaterinburg. This is the Russian Orthodox church built on the site of the Ipatiev House where Nicholas II, the last Emperor of Russia, was killed together with his wife, children and several members of household. The church was built in 2000-2003. According to the architect’s concept, the altar is located directly over the site of the Romanov’s execution. Near the church there is a monument to the emperor’s family: people are going down to the basement, from which they will never return.
Address: Yekaterinburg, Tolmachyova str, 34A
Novo-Tikhvinsky convent was opened in the 18th century. Before the revolution it was the largest convent in Russia. Large number of pilgrims came to the convent to pray to the Tikhvin’s icon of the Mother of God. Even Russian emperors came to the convent.
In 1920s the convent was closed by the Bolsheviks, most of the sisters were killed. Some buildings were reconstructed, some of them were destroyed. The Church of St Alexander Nevsky was turned into a storage.
In 1994 the convent was given back to the church. Reconstruction is going on, but the principal church — the Cathedral of Alexander Nevsky — had been already restored and consecrated in 2013.
Address: Yekaterinburg, Zelenaya Roscha str., 1
Sevastyanov’s House is definitely the most beautiful building in Yekaterinburg. It is also one of the most outstanding and recognizable buildings. The palace was built by a successful businessman Sevostyanov in the beginning of the 19th century on Iset river. This is the only representative of Arabian-Gothic style in the whole Ural-Siberian region.
Sevastyanov’s House is a cultural heritage site (historical monument). Till summer 2010 the house had served as the president’s residence in Yekaterinburg.
Address: Yekaterinburg, Lenin str., 35
Factory dam in Yekaterinburg is the heart and soul of Ekaterinburg. This is the place where people meet each other and separate forever.
The dam was erected in 1723 on the order of Genin and Tatischev — founders of Yekaterinburg. The dam is made of Siberian larch — frost-hardy tree. Siberial larch is rot-resistant, and in water it becomes even harder. The dam gave mechanical energy for the Yekaterinburg factory.
The dam in Yekaterinburg is the traditional site for public holidays and folk festivals.121 072